A Follow Up Point …

Yesterday I posted a YouTube video of a commercial that reminded me of every time I argue with a creationist (which has thankfully not happened in a while.  Oh Happy Day!).  I’m leaving for a mini-vacation for the next few days so I thought I would raid Reddit for a few things … and this is what I found:

That’s something that I never even bothered to bring up every time I spoke about scientific consensus.  Scientists love to argue.  To show that someone is wrong – or better yet, that a well established theory is wrong – would mean their names go down in history as a pioneer of a new scientific paradigm.  So, when I say that something like Big Bang cosmology or modern evolutionary theory is overwhelmingly accepted by the scientific community, we really need to understand exactly how significant that really is.

Regular posts to resume on Tuesday.

This entry was posted in Freedom from Religion, generic skepticism, Science Marches On and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

