Malala Goes Back to School

Back in October of last year, 15-year old Pakistani girl Malala Yousafzai was shot in the head by a couple of masked Taliban gunmen who considered the idea of her getting an education and crusading for education rights “an obscenity”.  She was first taken to a hospital in Peshawar, but later transferred to a hospital in England for further treatment where she had a titanium plate put into her head and a cochlear implant to restore her hearing.

She left the hospital earlier this month and is headed back to school to continue her education (this time, in England).

“I am excited that today I have achieved my dream of going back to school,” she said. “I want all girls in the world to have this basic opportunity. I miss my classmates from Pakistan very much but I am looking forward to meeting my teachers and making new friends here in Birmingham.”

Malala, wearing a dark head scarf and clutching her school case, told reporters as she walked to school with her father, Ziauddin Yousafzai, “I want to learn about politics and about social rights, about law, about how to bring change in this world and to work for the happiness and education of all girls.”

Given what she’s gone through already and her response to it all, I’m pretty certain she’s going to change the world some day.

This entry was posted in Freedom from Religion, Profiles in Fundamentalism, Religion and Public Life, Society Marches On and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

