Paying it Forward

So, I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by Charity (thank you!) … which, as far as I can tell, is a self-perpetuating chain letter-esque award system to give some recognition and exposure to blogs with fewer than 200 followers.  Since I’m not even close to that mark yet, I think I qualify.  Besides, I’m all for a little more exposure in the blogosphere.  Here’s the skinny:

The rules:

1. Thank the Liebster Blog presenter who nominated you and link back to their blog.

2. Post 11 facts about yourself, answering the 11 questions you were asked and create 11 questions for your nominees.

3. Nominate 11 blogs who you feel deserve to be noticed and leave a comment on their blog letting them know they have been chosen.

4. Display the Liebster Award logo.

5. No tag backs meaning you can’t just re nominate the person who nominated you.

As Solo the First put it “The real purpose behind these nominations are not only as an accolade from a fellow blogger and let’s face it, nothing gently strokes our little writer hearts more than someone telling you they appreciate your work.  In addition to the back patting we need to receive from time to time, it also allows us to get a little more personal as we get to know our increasing blogging community. It also helps drive traffic to your site as we reference one another.”

I will say right now that I can’t come up with 11 nominees, but I’ll give it a shot.  Here’s the questions:

1) Tea or coffee? – Whiskey!  Seriously, you think I can start the morning any other way?  It is fortified with 8 essential vitamins and nutrients.

2) Who is the most influential person in your life? – My muse, Miss Pink.  Keeps me grounded and gets me out of the house from time to time.  She also sends me things to rant about on my blog, thus qualifying her as an “enabler”.

3) What’s your favorite Shakespeare play? – Hamlet.  I was completely obsessed with the play my senior year of high school, if only because it was chock full of countless literary devices that any student could use to write about for, say, a term paper, essays, presentations, job interview, and excuse for being out past curfew.  I milked that thing dry.

4) What is your favorite genre of music? – Wizard rock!  Rush, Yes, Genesis, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, etc.  Anything else is uncivilized.

5) Do you play an instrument? – I play the radio … that count?

6) What’s your favorite state or national park? – Grand Canyon!  I was delirious with a 103 degree fever last time I was there, which made it all the more riveting.  Fear and Loathing in Sedona.

7) What’s your favorite view, sunrise or sunset? – I can appreciate the sunset more because I am way the hell too cranky in the mornings.

8) Which environment do you enjoy more the grasslands, desert, mountains or the beach?  I live in Oregon, so I have it all.

9) What is the best movie you ever saw?  Lord of the Rings.  The scene in Moria when the Balrog first appeared filled the 10-year old monster movie fanatic that grew up with Godzilla and Rodan jump up in the middle of the theater and shout with a sense of utter victory.

10) Who is your favorite author?  After finally getting through all of Lord of the Rings, I have to say Tolkein.  Frank Herbert is a close second for Dune.

11) What do you hope others will remember about you when you die?  That I was a good guy who made them laugh from time to time.  But since I plan on living forever …

So.  Hmm.  What blogs to nominominate …

Alice at Wonderland
Doubting Confessions
Antipodal Points

I’m pretty sure the rest of the people I have on my reading list have far more than 200 followers (and Alice doesn’t even have her count listed, or at least I couldn’t find it!), so I’m rather limited to who I can select. Now I have to put together eleven questions? Really?  … ok fine … here we go.  For the record, this is the last chain letter I’m doing …

  1. Gin, whiskey, or tequila?
  2. Sushi or pizza?
  3. Ginger or Mary Anne?
  4. Would you rather fight a hundred duck sized horses or one horse sized duck?  (With a nod to Reddit).
  5. What do you think the extent of Christianity’s influence would have been had Constantine not converted, thereby making Christianity the state religion of the Roman Empire?
  6. What do you think the actual percentage of non-believers is in this country, if there weren’t a stigma attached with identifying as one … especially in the Bible Belt?
  7. Do you think religious fundamentalism in this country is going to continue to be on the rise, or do you believe that this is the last gasp of a dying way of thought in the face of better education, access to information, and more independent thought?
  8. In light of Question 7, where do you see American Christianity in 100 years?
  9. Fast forward 10 million years from now.  What species from this era is showing signs of human-like intelligence?
  10. What do you think the likelihood is that sentient alien life exists in our neck of the woods (100 LY radius)?
  11. Computer or console games?

There.  Hopefully I’ve made it interesting.  Have fun, folks!

This entry was posted in Atheism and Personal Life, random musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Paying it Forward

  1. Charity says:

    Ha ha! Jason, I agree, I too think it to be a glorified chain letter, but what the hell! You were seriously the first person I thought of to nominate. Your blog is quite informative. I admit, I was intimidated at first as a baby atheist by your casual use of the word “blasphemy”. I always find your posts and comments to be honest, insightful, and funny at times.

    I’m a “Julius Caesar” fan myself. I liked it far better than “Romeo and Juliet”, and I absolutely hated “Macbeth” in high school!

    Good luck in all you do!

    • I’m flattered that I was the first person on your list, and am glad you and others appreciate my ceaseless ranting writing. I greatly enjoy yours as well, especially since your background provides a completely different frame of reference from anything I grew up with. Even so, I was convinced for the better part of my youth that I was going to hell and it was just a matter of time. That’s no way to grow up, and I can’t imagine it helped the way my brain is hard-wired today. Still, I’m at the point now where I can say things like “blasphemy” without cringing. Took me a while to get there though.

      And oh, how I hated Macbeth. My teacher turned the damned thing into a chore and it lost all appeal for me.

  2. I ended up reading Macbeth at least 3 times, maybe more, because every teacher covered it. It is a good play, but come on. Othello was interesting, if only because she showed the Orson Welles movie – yes, that’s right, a white guy playing Othello, a black moor. So it was okay to have a mixed marriage in the 1600s, but not in 1950 . . . whatever. It was a hoot looking at the dope in the dark makeup trying to blend into the shadows to look darker.

    I actually have around 700 followers, but I hadn’t thought to put the number up on my blog. Either way, it’s nice of you to nominate me. They really are chainmail awards, but what the hell. I will agree that your blog definitely needs more exposure. If you want to guest post ever, I’d love to have one of your Chick Tract dissections on my blog. Those are hilarious and would fit in well with my blog, which is mostly humor, or at least lame attempts at it.

    I am also dying to know how people answer your questions.

    • I never got to read Othello. I think our school curriculum mandated we do one Shakespeare play per year, and then move on to some crap by Hemingway (oh how I hate), Vonnegut (fine), and the entire collected works of Nathaniel Hawthorne which – if you’ve ever had the pleasure – was like a primer on interpretive writing. It was like Shakespeare in that it was filled with all sorts of things you could take apart and piece together to the point where you could write an essay on pretty much anything and be guaranteed an A. Depressing as hell, but that’s what you get when you write about Puritan life, sin, morality, sin, and death.

      And sin.

      I had a feeling you were above 200, but I seriously couldn’t even come up with five names so I thought, “eh, screw it”. Have an award. As for guest posting, I would love to do something for you at some point. I’m not sure when, considering I’ve had this one Chick Tract dissection on a low simmer for the better part of three months now. It’s pretty bad. When I get around to finishing it up, I’ll let you know and we’ll work something out. That might actually motivate me to set it done … who knows?

      • Oh, man, I was an English major so yeah I’ve had the pleasure of all of those. At least the Scarlet Letter was short. I also had a class on Hemingway / Faulkner. Let me tell you, if you haven’t had the pleasure of Faulkner, count yourself lucky. He makes Hemingway look freaking fabulous. That’s actually the only class I flunked because after making it through Hemingway, I got to Faulker and his Sound and the Fury and said oh screw this.

        Yeah, the coming up with names for awards kind of reminds me of McCarthy. Give us names! Ha. I got to where I was posting the award, saying thanks, and saying anyone who wants it can have it. Another time I posted and offered it to the spambots. Now I just say thanks and don’t bother, usually.

  3. I’m a little behind on my reading, so I’m catching up now. It was nice learning a bit about you and congrats on your nomination

  4. Elyse says:

    Congrats on the nomination!

    As N avid reader I go along with a lot of your choices. But Hawthorne? Ahhhhhhhhhhh. I think House of the Seven Gables has turned more high school and college students into tv watchers. Horrible, horrible book.

    • Thank you kindly 🙂

      And don’t get me wrong; his writing and his stories were depressing as all hell. But oh, were they a treasure trove of imagery you could just scoop up with both hands and craft into a fine, fine essay that would satisfy even the most finicky English teacher.

  5. Richard says:

    Dude, I’m flattered. But like you I don’t know who else I would nominate, and it’s not really fair to play if I don’t do the whole thing. (Also, chain letters bug me.)

    I have nevertheless gone ahead and scheduled a post to your (interesting!) questions to show up in the next few days, and we’ll see what that does for my readership. Honestly, my erratic update schedule probably does far more to influence my readership than the content of what I post or who recommends me.

  6. Pingback: Crimes Against Divinity and the future natural history of Christianity | Antipodal Points

Leave a Reply

